Also in this Section

An newly elected Interim Governing Body was formed in March 2018.

The Governing body of Grangewood Independent School is made up of local people (parents, school staff and residents) who are passionate and care deeply about the children in the community in which we live and work.  Governors of  Grangewood Independent School recognise the importance of their role in that each and every child is precious and we do our utmost to help them to unlock their full potential with excellence being their hallmark.

​Our governors aim is to help make strategic decisions about the school and its future, and we will always do this by focusing on the best interests of the students and the school.  We are  in the process of electing a Chair of Governors.  Once this process is completed, we will indicate who this is below.  In the meantime, if you have a complaint, please write your letter in a sealed envelope addressed to 'The Governing Body' and hand it in to the school office.

We have three types of governors at Grangewood Independent School:

Staff governors are elected by the staff of the school to represent them on the governing body, and bring with them professional experience and knowledge. They share the views and where, appropriate, the concerns of staff with the governing body and act as a conduit between staff and the governing body.

Co-Opted governor is a person appointed by the governing body and who, in the opinion of the governing body, has the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

Parent governors play a vital role in governing bodies, holding the unique position of having a parental viewpoint of the school.  We value the important perspective that our parent governors hold, and we have a close rapport with each parent governor on the team.

​(In alphabetical order.....)
Mr Jones Agyeman - Parent Governor (Chair) 
Chair of Governors contact details - 
Email address:

Mr David Blankson - Staff Governor
Mr Nigel Gray - Co-Opted Governor
Ms Anthea Green - Co-Opted Governor
Ms Jenise Jarvis - Co-Opted Governor & Trustee
Ms Sophia McDonald - Parent & Staff Governor
Pastor Derick Meade - Co-Opted Governor
Mrs Beverley Roberts - Staff Governor
Mr Terry Roberts - Staff Governor